REVIEWS

Reviewed 3rd September 2007 by Iano

I ate here last Saturday night with a group of eight (4 couples). We decided to go for the Special Set Dinner menu (for a min. of 8) @ €35 per head. The starter selection was good, with Spare ribs, chicken satay skewers, spring rolls, and deep fried prawns - all very good...except perhaps for the spare ribs which were not very meaty. The main course consisted of an excellent variety of dishes, including S&S chicken, duck, prawns in garlic, a vegetable platter and a minced beef dish with a fabulous sauce that looked innocent but had a nice spicey kick to it. Then a well presented fruit platter to finish. Good selection of wines and teas/coffees. Service very attentive, and they certainly kept the wine glasses topped up...perhaps they were too keen to empty the wine bottles...'cos we inevitably ordered more! Overall an excellent restaurant and one we would definitely go to again.

Reviewed 28th August 2007 by cj73

I was here for my birthday after reading lots of good reviews and I have to say: Wow! That was awesome!!!! The food was perfect, the service was even better - we were served by 5 waiters! They were very quick,attentive and sweet!The prices are reasonable. The BEST part was when the staff would come out and sing!! You just want to roll over from laughing so much! The main waiter-guy was phenomenal, he kept up the vibe, he was very enthusiastic. They sang to the birthday boy, then a "Beatles" song with banging pots and pans covers! That was smashing! Definitely an unforgettable night for a birthday!We will come back certainly!!!

Reviewed 20th August 2007 by irishgirlie

One word - YUM!! Huge portions for a very reasonable price!! Get the sweet and sour chicken! It’s fab!

Reviewed 14th August 2007 by Bonniebaker

I ate here on the weekend with a friend, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was delicious, we had the Japanese mixed starter to share, and we loved it! Each of the portions were mouth watering. For the mains we both had Japanese again, I had the prawn Yakisoba & my friend had the Tempura Rice Bowl. After the mains the waiter & chef came out to sing some songs and everyone in the Restaurant was laughing and clapping. A great place, which we both would love to visit again! All good.

Reviewed 8th August 2007 by JohnFlynn

Chai Yo - From Live cooking to a Johnny Cash wannabe singing chef that plays the Guitar. Chai Yo is a favourite of mine for lunchtime eating. Anyone in the Baggot Street area I give it my thumbs up and 5* rating.

Reviewed 31st July 2007 by lilruthiem

I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. We sat at the Teppanyaki (?) table and the chef was amazing. He interacted really well with everyone and also played a few tricks that I would recommend that you go along and see for yourself. The food was lovely, the usual type of Japanese menu but definitely more authentic tasting than some other Japanese restaurants I've been too. The staff were very friendly and patient! The saki comes in little teapots with tiny cups, word of warning, it is very strong and easy to drink. Definitely one to try. :)

Reviewed 30th July 2007 by hungryanimal

I ate in this restaurant with a large group of people. I found the staff incredibly nice, the entertainment value fabulous with the singing chefs. The value for money was amazing with good food, wine flowing & a relatively small bill at the end of the night. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a birthday or a fun way to kick off a night with your mates. Every photo we have of all of us is filled with people smiling & laughing in this place. Fantastic!!!!!

Reviewed 12th July 2007 by Ags

Went here for a friend's birthday after reading lots of good reviews and I have to say: IMPRESSED!!! The food was excellent, the service was even better! They were very attentive, the waiter even started sweating! (In saying that, he was serving 20 people). The prices are all right, average for a good dinner in Dublin city but the BEST part was when the cooks would come out and SING SING SING!! You just want to roll over from laughing so much! The main waiter guy (I think) was phenomenal, he kept up the vibe, he was very enthusiastic. They sang to the birthday boy, then an Irish song with banging pots and pans! It was a riot! Definitely an unforgettable night for a birthday!

Reviewed 10th July 2007 by magpie

One of the few restaurants I would give a 5-star review. I have been there twice for the Teppanyaki, and the food is first rate. They serve the best of everything: Steak, Chicken Seafood. I have gotten the Chai Yo Special twice, and it is great, but I think my favourite has to be the sea bass. We have had the same chef both times, and he is highly skilled and great fun. If you are up for great food, and a great time at a great price, I would highly recommend it...

Reviewed 7th July 2007 by dizzydub

Have been to Chai Yo many times and plan on coming back many more. Usually we dine downstairs but had the pleasure of taking part in the Teppanyaki for my birthday and it was fantastic. The showmanship that the chef puts in is fantastic and the food is absolutely delicious. I also recommend the hot ice cream for dessert. The staff here were brilliant considering we arrived just as they were about to close on a Sunday night, without a reservation and they seated us and didn't rush us at all. We didn't actually realise they closed at 10 until we were leaving.

100 Lower Baggot street, Dublin 2
(01)6767652
Opening hours
Mon - Thu: 12:30pm - 11:00pm ,
Fri: 12:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sat: 05:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sun: 03:00pm - 10:00pm