REVIEWS

Reviewed 30th July 2007 by hungryanimal

I ate in this restaurant with a large group of people. I found the staff incredibly nice, the entertainment value fabulous with the singing chefs. The value for money was amazing with good food, wine flowing & a relatively small bill at the end of the night. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a birthday or a fun way to kick off a night with your mates. Every photo we have of all of us is filled with people smiling & laughing in this place. Fantastic!!!!!

Reviewed 12th July 2007 by Ags

Went here for a friend's birthday after reading lots of good reviews and I have to say: IMPRESSED!!! The food was excellent, the service was even better! They were very attentive, the waiter even started sweating! (In saying that, he was serving 20 people). The prices are all right, average for a good dinner in Dublin city but the BEST part was when the cooks would come out and SING SING SING!! You just want to roll over from laughing so much! The main waiter guy (I think) was phenomenal, he kept up the vibe, he was very enthusiastic. They sang to the birthday boy, then an Irish song with banging pots and pans! It was a riot! Definitely an unforgettable night for a birthday!

Reviewed 10th July 2007 by magpie

One of the few restaurants I would give a 5-star review. I have been there twice for the Teppanyaki, and the food is first rate. They serve the best of everything: Steak, Chicken Seafood. I have gotten the Chai Yo Special twice, and it is great, but I think my favourite has to be the sea bass. We have had the same chef both times, and he is highly skilled and great fun. If you are up for great food, and a great time at a great price, I would highly recommend it...

Reviewed 7th July 2007 by dizzydub

Have been to Chai Yo many times and plan on coming back many more. Usually we dine downstairs but had the pleasure of taking part in the Teppanyaki for my birthday and it was fantastic. The showmanship that the chef puts in is fantastic and the food is absolutely delicious. I also recommend the hot ice cream for dessert. The staff here were brilliant considering we arrived just as they were about to close on a Sunday night, without a reservation and they seated us and didn't rush us at all. We didn't actually realise they closed at 10 until we were leaving.

Reviewed 19th June 2007 by caoils

Best lunch on Baggot street, sometimes it can be a bit slow but food is always fantastic and its extremely reasnable

Reviewed 6th June 2007 by abzstar

There were 30 of us at the restaurant. They kept the wine flowing, bottle after bottle without having to order each one. With so many of us they gave us a great L shaped table so we felt like we were not too far apart from each other. The food was excellent and so much to choose from. The best bit was the waiters and the chef who came out at the end of the night to sing to us with guitars we were all singing and dancing i.e. 'Your just too good to be true' etc etc. Price was good when we split the amount. Overall a fab time with lots of laughing.

Reviewed 22nd May 2007 by tillytotrocks

Had a fantastic night in Chai Yo. We booked (for 10 people) the tables upstairs for live cooking. The food was divine, and even better to see it cooked right before your eyes. Good selection of wine, and also some beers for the non wine people. The service was the best part. The chef put on a great show as he cooked our food and the singing from the other waiting staff really finished the night on a high. Would definitely recommend for a group. We’ll be back.

Reviewed 16th April 2007 by TetsukoMe

I booked Chai Yo for a get together for 12 friends, I had heard great things about the restaurant and we weren't disappointed. The choice of food on the menu is extensive. Some people in the group were worried with the choice of a Thai restaurant but everyone was happy with the options available. The food itself was fantastic, very tasty! The desserts are disappointing (those frozen, pre-packaged desserts you see in a lot of Asian restaurants) so I would advise people to fill up on starters and main courses rather than saving room for a nice dessert. As for the staff they’re excellent; friendly, professional, nothing was too much trouble. By the end of the meal I was already thinking of booking again but then the best bit arrived. The next table was celebrating a birthday, to say that a couple of members of staff sang to the birthday girl is putting it mildly. There was a chef banging two saucepan tops, one with a set of drums, another with a guitar!! Their version of the Fields of Athenry was something else! If you're celebrating anything and want to do it in style then Chai Yo is a definite must!

Reviewed 3rd April 2007 by kitticatie

The staff are polite from start to end, trying to grant you every request before you even know it. Three different menus's to choose from and really great wines made the evening seem so much more enjoyable. The only downside is the desserts, but if you've had the starter and the main course, I'm sure that there won't be any place left to fit in the dessert. Great restaurant, great service and great food = great evening out!

Reviewed 13th March 2007 by Mr Munchie

Ah Chai-Yo! What wonderful memories from this place. We went there for my birthday last year, and had a horseshoe table all to ourselves for the Teppanyaki. The chef was fabulously entertaining and the food was delicious though I must confess I was more taken up with the entertainment that I nearly forget the food. There was also an engagement party celebration at the other table so the waiters and chef sang them a song, and then two songs for my birthday so it was wonderful. I don't think I've ever laughed so much. Price-wise, it is expensive for the Teppanyaki, though it's not essential for everyone at the Teppanyaki table to order the Teppanyaki (the Teppanyaki is prepared in front of you on hot plates, the other food is brought up from the kitchen). The Teppanyaki is €35 approx so it's not cheap but my goodness definitely worth it for value of entertainment!

100 Lower Baggot street, Dublin 2
(01)6767652
Opening hours
Mon - Thu: 12:30pm - 11:00pm ,
Fri: 12:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sat: 05:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sun: 03:00pm - 10:00pm