REVIEWS

Reviewed 13th December 2007 by lorraineduffy5

A group of 8 friends ate here teppan yaki style. It was delicious and great fun. The staff were superb and the food was amazing. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and and will be back myself.

Reviewed 1st November 2007 by HungryRebel

Not only does this place serve good food, it is certainly a memorable experience. I would definitely recommend getting a seat at the Tepenyaki table, especially if you go with a group. The food itself is very good, but watching the chefs at work doing their thing in front of you is quite an experience - and that's before they break out the pots & guitar and start singing!! 10 of us left here vowing to return for both the food and the craic.

Reviewed 17th October 2007 by frances930

I visited Chai Yo with a gang from work, we went for lunch and the prices were good, great variety of food and everybody was pleased, but BEST OF ALL was the friendly staff, they serenaded us with amusing songs and the atmosphere was fantastic. We were singing all the way back to work but maybe that was from the good wine !!!

Reviewed 24th September 2007 by klcahill

Brought my boyfriend here for his birthday based on the reviews from here and I was not disappointed. The food was great and the staff made it even better. The gave lots of advice when picking what to eat, what wine and then they came out singing. Can't wait to go back.

Reviewed 3rd September 2007 by Iano

I ate here last Saturday night with a group of eight (4 couples). We decided to go for the Special Set Dinner menu (for a min. of 8) @ €35 per head. The starter selection was good, with Spare ribs, chicken satay skewers, spring rolls, and deep fried prawns - all very good...except perhaps for the spare ribs which were not very meaty. The main course consisted of an excellent variety of dishes, including S&S chicken, duck, prawns in garlic, a vegetable platter and a minced beef dish with a fabulous sauce that looked innocent but had a nice spicey kick to it. Then a well presented fruit platter to finish. Good selection of wines and teas/coffees. Service very attentive, and they certainly kept the wine glasses topped up...perhaps they were too keen to empty the wine bottles...'cos we inevitably ordered more! Overall an excellent restaurant and one we would definitely go to again.

Reviewed 28th August 2007 by cj73

I was here for my birthday after reading lots of good reviews and I have to say: Wow! That was awesome!!!! The food was perfect, the service was even better - we were served by 5 waiters! They were very quick,attentive and sweet!The prices are reasonable. The BEST part was when the staff would come out and sing!! You just want to roll over from laughing so much! The main waiter-guy was phenomenal, he kept up the vibe, he was very enthusiastic. They sang to the birthday boy, then a "Beatles" song with banging pots and pans covers! That was smashing! Definitely an unforgettable night for a birthday!We will come back certainly!!!

Reviewed 20th August 2007 by irishgirlie

One word - YUM!! Huge portions for a very reasonable price!! Get the sweet and sour chicken! It’s fab!

Reviewed 14th August 2007 by Bonniebaker

I ate here on the weekend with a friend, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was delicious, we had the Japanese mixed starter to share, and we loved it! Each of the portions were mouth watering. For the mains we both had Japanese again, I had the prawn Yakisoba & my friend had the Tempura Rice Bowl. After the mains the waiter & chef came out to sing some songs and everyone in the Restaurant was laughing and clapping. A great place, which we both would love to visit again! All good.

Reviewed 8th August 2007 by JohnFlynn

Chai Yo - From Live cooking to a Johnny Cash wannabe singing chef that plays the Guitar. Chai Yo is a favourite of mine for lunchtime eating. Anyone in the Baggot Street area I give it my thumbs up and 5* rating.

Reviewed 31st July 2007 by lilruthiem

I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. We sat at the Teppanyaki (?) table and the chef was amazing. He interacted really well with everyone and also played a few tricks that I would recommend that you go along and see for yourself. The food was lovely, the usual type of Japanese menu but definitely more authentic tasting than some other Japanese restaurants I've been too. The staff were very friendly and patient! The saki comes in little teapots with tiny cups, word of warning, it is very strong and easy to drink. Definitely one to try. :)

100 Lower Baggot street, Dublin 2
(01)6767652
Opening hours
Mon - Thu: 12:30pm - 11:00pm ,
Fri: 12:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sat: 05:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sun: 03:00pm - 10:00pm