REVIEWS

Reviewed 19th November 2010 by whelo

Had beautiful Tempura prawn starter and Chai Yo chicken main, absolutely delicious. Really friendly staff and great service! Cant wait to go back again.

Reviewed 18th November 2010 by smakoszka

Went there for dinner with my bf, I heard many good things from my friends about that restaurant. Everything what I was looking for that evening was perfect. Service excellent, would say even outstanding (althought you have to pay 10% of service charge). Food was tasty, fresh, aromatic.... We got 4 course meal for 17.50 each. To start minced chicken with crispy noodles wrap in lettuce to share, we both really like it. For main I have ordered Green Thai Curry Prawns which was recommended by the waiter well done was very good. My boyfriend ordered crispy beef, cant remember the name, it was nice but maybe to sweet for main course. I really like atmosphere there, I think it is great place for party, birthday....itd. Allthought music was to low and we could hear table from the end of room. We have a very good experience, we will be back for sure!

Reviewed 11th November 2010 by airy-fairy

Great Place for lots of laughs!! Not a place for a romantic dinner or too few people. A bundle of people is a must. Food is authentic, freshly prepared, delicious. The chef makes preparing and cooking food an art form and keeps you entertained with party tricks (similar to Tom Cruise in Cocktail, there is a lot of action going on with utensils). The food is a set menu ... Finger lickin Ribs and things, fresh fried rice made from scratch in front of you. Scallops, Steak and Stir fried vegetables are al dente, fresh, flavoursome. Desserts are a let down with a 'Costa a del Sol vibe' to them (Icecream served in Plastic Characters such as pandas and penguins.... !!!). Cafe Late was mediocre. The service was fantastic - aprons provided for everybody. The Chef and 2 Waiters serenaded us with guitars and tamborines. The Bill was a little pricey but this was assited by the slightly higher priced wine options. All in All a great nights fun. But only a place for a group of people!!!!

Reviewed 10th November 2010 by conaldavan

Visited Chai Yo with my family to celebrate our youngest sisters birthday on Friday night. We had a great night. The food was excellent and great value. We all tried something different off the menu and everyone was happy with what they chose. Really liked the cantonese duck and the yuk sung. At the end of the meal the staff came and sang happy birthday to my sister and it was great fun! Even to going home they called taxis on the road for us. A most enjoyable night, food delicious, atmosphere buzzing and staff very friendly.

Reviewed 5th November 2010 by iheartgoodfood

I cant recommend this place enough! I have been 3 times to the tepenyaki part of the restaurant. We has a group of 10 people this time, and it never fails to impress. First and foremost the food is Excellent, all the meat was cooked to perfection, and had every single taste bud craving more! Secondly the staff are super friendly and happy to see you without being too 'in your face' . Thirdly you come away feeling like youve not just had a really good meal, but an really good all round experience. You can either choose to chat to your friends or sit and take in the cooking extravaganza as they prepare everything right infront of you! There are a numbers of surpises and tricks they have in store for you and your group and i can guarantee there will not be one person in your group who wont come away smiling! I will most definitely be going back again!

Reviewed 27th October 2010 by roytheboy68

My family and I ate here over the bank holiday weekend. I have to say that it was excellent - the food, the service and the value for money were all top notch. The only drawback was that the place was half empty (I gather that it's more popular during the week with office workers) but there is really no reason why everyone else shouldn't be giving it a try on a weekend. First class overall.

Reviewed 26th October 2010 by Dublin09

I got a delivery of this chinese to my house. I have tried a few chinese take aways around trying to find a nice one and I can't so i ordered here. It was one of the best and tastiest chineses i have had in a long time. The delivery was fast and the food was quality. I will definitely be using these again. What a gem. Very reasonably priced also

Reviewed 26th October 2010 by little_princess

I have been here many times - it has started to become a weekly thing as we just can't keep away. The lunch time menu is brilliant value for money at €12.50 for 2 courses plus tea/coffee and the food is of a very high standard. The staff are always friendly and attentive - my water glass is always refilled as soon as it is empty. We have often pre ordered when we are stuck for time and this has never been a problem. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated and can accommodate groups or small parties. I would highly reccommend Chai Yo to anyone, especially the Thai Red curry!!

Reviewed 12th October 2010 by Blue Dylan

I've been to Chai Yo twice already and i cannot recommend it enough! The location, although on Lower Baggot street is just a fifteen minute stroll from the city centre!Each time I've been I've gone for the lunch special which is a bargain at e12 for three courses! I spent a lot of time in Asia so was delighted to discover that Chai Yo did a fantastic green curry.It really was lovely and the portion was generous.(Also, foodwise the three-season prawn is not to be missed!) The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.The decor inside is beautiful. Upstairs is more lively and would be perfect for a group of people, whereas downstairs is a little more intimate with gorgeous exposed stone-work! The service was great too, the waiter was attentive and friendly-i just love this place.

Reviewed 11th October 2010 by jayprior

Cracking little restaurant! I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, whether you're looking for a quiet lunch, a cosy place for you & your other half or an entertaining evening to get your night start. The food is top drawer and the service is excellent. You've got to try the teppan yaki..great deals and the bombay ice cream is serious! I'll be going back here soon.

100 Lower Baggot street, Dublin 2
(01)6767652
Opening hours
Mon - Thu: 12:30pm - 11:00pm ,
Fri: 12:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sat: 05:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sun: 03:00pm - 10:00pm