REVIEWS

Reviewed 19th February 2011 by monyaka

Went here with my wife and two friends. We had a fab night. First class. Food was great. Waiting staff made the night first of all for the service and secondly for the singing and the guitar playing....they really had a great voices. We sat downstairs in the main restaurant and the apmosphere was really nice. Starters, mains and deserts including a bottle of wine came to €140 and I thought it was good value for money Looking forward to coming back again. Many thanks Chai Yo keep up the good work.

Reviewed 7th February 2011 by gregpent

Lovely restaurant, very nice and attentive staff. We chose from the 4 course menu for 17.50 per person. I had the yom tam soup to start....really nice and spicy with beautiful prawns and mushrooms. The crispy chilli beef with fried rice was lovely. A selection of ice cream for desert and a cup of tea. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed 20th January 2011 by cajohnson

After discovering that Yo Thai in Donnybrook was gone/moved, I was consoled by going to Chai Yo, the sister restaurant. We sat at the Teppenyaki table for the experience and had great fun watching the chef do his magic. The food was delicious: a combo plate of chicken, salmon and beef, wih egg fried rice and vegetables. The flavours were equally wonderful, some spicy, some sweet and sour. No real criticism, except that I wouldn't continue going to the teppenyaki table, I would book a normal table upstairs. Same food, just without the drama! Atmosphere was great, very lively. Thumbs up for sure.

Reviewed 7th December 2010 by Food4life10

We booked a Teppanyaki table for 14 people and I have to say it was a great evening. The chef was great and got everyone involved in the cooking. The food was lovely and tasty. But the best thing was the 3 fellas that came over and sang and played the guitar at the end of the meal, got everyone up dancing and singing. The place is great for a girls night, birthday parties etc. Will be back for sure. 14 people with wine all night €50 per person great value :-) Thanks

Reviewed 19th November 2010 by whelo

Had beautiful Tempura prawn starter and Chai Yo chicken main, absolutely delicious. Really friendly staff and great service! Cant wait to go back again.

Reviewed 18th November 2010 by smakoszka

Went there for dinner with my bf, I heard many good things from my friends about that restaurant. Everything what I was looking for that evening was perfect. Service excellent, would say even outstanding (althought you have to pay 10% of service charge). Food was tasty, fresh, aromatic.... We got 4 course meal for 17.50 each. To start minced chicken with crispy noodles wrap in lettuce to share, we both really like it. For main I have ordered Green Thai Curry Prawns which was recommended by the waiter well done was very good. My boyfriend ordered crispy beef, cant remember the name, it was nice but maybe to sweet for main course. I really like atmosphere there, I think it is great place for party, birthday....itd. Allthought music was to low and we could hear table from the end of room. We have a very good experience, we will be back for sure!

Reviewed 11th November 2010 by airy-fairy

Great Place for lots of laughs!! Not a place for a romantic dinner or too few people. A bundle of people is a must. Food is authentic, freshly prepared, delicious. The chef makes preparing and cooking food an art form and keeps you entertained with party tricks (similar to Tom Cruise in Cocktail, there is a lot of action going on with utensils). The food is a set menu ... Finger lickin Ribs and things, fresh fried rice made from scratch in front of you. Scallops, Steak and Stir fried vegetables are al dente, fresh, flavoursome. Desserts are a let down with a 'Costa a del Sol vibe' to them (Icecream served in Plastic Characters such as pandas and penguins.... !!!). Cafe Late was mediocre. The service was fantastic - aprons provided for everybody. The Chef and 2 Waiters serenaded us with guitars and tamborines. The Bill was a little pricey but this was assited by the slightly higher priced wine options. All in All a great nights fun. But only a place for a group of people!!!!

Reviewed 10th November 2010 by conaldavan

Visited Chai Yo with my family to celebrate our youngest sisters birthday on Friday night. We had a great night. The food was excellent and great value. We all tried something different off the menu and everyone was happy with what they chose. Really liked the cantonese duck and the yuk sung. At the end of the meal the staff came and sang happy birthday to my sister and it was great fun! Even to going home they called taxis on the road for us. A most enjoyable night, food delicious, atmosphere buzzing and staff very friendly.

Reviewed 5th November 2010 by iheartgoodfood

I cant recommend this place enough! I have been 3 times to the tepenyaki part of the restaurant. We has a group of 10 people this time, and it never fails to impress. First and foremost the food is Excellent, all the meat was cooked to perfection, and had every single taste bud craving more! Secondly the staff are super friendly and happy to see you without being too 'in your face' . Thirdly you come away feeling like youve not just had a really good meal, but an really good all round experience. You can either choose to chat to your friends or sit and take in the cooking extravaganza as they prepare everything right infront of you! There are a numbers of surpises and tricks they have in store for you and your group and i can guarantee there will not be one person in your group who wont come away smiling! I will most definitely be going back again!

Reviewed 27th October 2010 by roytheboy68

My family and I ate here over the bank holiday weekend. I have to say that it was excellent - the food, the service and the value for money were all top notch. The only drawback was that the place was half empty (I gather that it's more popular during the week with office workers) but there is really no reason why everyone else shouldn't be giving it a try on a weekend. First class overall.

100 Lower Baggot street, Dublin 2
(01)6767652
Opening hours
Mon - Thu: 12:30pm - 11:00pm ,
Fri: 12:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sat: 05:30pm - 11:30pm ,
Sun: 03:00pm - 10:00pm